• General
  • Youth
  • Adults
  • Children
Contact Info
Petoskey United Methodist Church
1804 Mitchell St
Petoskey, MI 49770

Phone: (231) 347-2733
Fax: (231) 347-5352

Office Hours
Monday - Thursday
9:00 a.m.—3:00 p.m.

You are here: Home » About Us » Organization

At the top of our organization is God. He is a part of everything we do.

We continually, prayerfully, invite him into every area of our organization.

Each year all church members are invited to Church Conference. They elect members for committees to do the ministry of the church.

Church Council is made up of all the chair persons of the committees (along with a few others) - and is the regular decision-making body of the church. The council reports to Church Conference once a year.

Staff and church members (laypersons) lead individualCommittees

and Teams.  They make the day-to-day decisions for ministry. The committees and teams report to Church Council once or twice a year.


Church Council

The primary task of the Church Council is to:

Carry out the business of the annual church conference.

Help the congregation articulate its vision.

Oversee planning of the congregation and implementation of the church plans.

Develop systems that ensure people are received into fellowship, guided and encouraged in their spiritual transformation and growth toward Christ-centered maturity, and supported as they live out their lives as Christian disciples.


(From Guidelines for Leading Your Congregation: Church Council)



Chairperson: John Marshall

Pastor: James Mitchum

Membership/Evangelism: Doug Mantha

Trustees: AK Smith

Staff/Parish: Jeff Smith

Youth Council: Doug Mantha

Finance: Betsy White

Treasurer: Sue Herrington

Finance Secretary: Sandy Weber

Lay Member to Annual Conference: Judy Brummeler


Committees and Teams:

Lay Leadership: James P. Mitchum

Worship, Music & Arts: Millie Janka & Carolyn Kube

Membership and Evangelism: Doug Mantha

Trustees: A.K. Smith

Staff Parish: Jeff Smith

Finance: Betsy White

Adult Education: Doug Mantha

Children's Education: Cindy Brown

Celebration Garden: Meredith Richter

Memorial Committee: Lois Duiven

Safety Team: Joe Rautio